*closed* Pillsbury® “Love the pie” Review and Giveaway!

7 Nov

I am proud to announce that this will be my first ever Review / Contest sponsored by MyBlogSpark!

I received a Pillsbury “Love the Pie” prize pack which includes a VIP coupon for a free sample of Pillsbury® Refrigerated Pie Crusts, a pie dish, and apple themed kitchen items. Not only was this provided for me, but one of my great readers will be winning one too!

All of these wonderful items were provided by Pillsbury® through MyBlogSpark!

In the true spirit of fall Pillsbury® is encouraging families to make a trip to an orchard and pick your own apples, then bake whatever it is that you and your family have chosen.

Since I do not live near an orchard I had to do the apple picking at my local grocery store.

I have a confession to make… I have never made a pie before. This was my very first encounter with pie making and to be very honest I was very intimidated! I searched for a recipe for days and days, until finally I found a recipe that immediately caught my eye.

Rosy Apple Pie

[The following is a recipe I found in Pillsbury’s® best 1000 Recipes Best of the BAKE-OFF Collection ]

You will need:

  • 1 Pie pan
  • 1 Saucepan with lid
  • 5 Medium apples
  • ½ cup water
  • 1-2 drops of red food coloring <I chose to substitute vanilla>
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons flour
  • ¼ teaspoon mutmeg
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Prepare… 5 cups pared, sliced apples (5) medium

* I chose gala apples because they are my all time favorite

 

Simmer peelings in 1/2 cup water in covered saucepan 10 minutes. Add 1 to 2 drops red food coloring

* I used Nielsen Massey Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla instead of red food coloring to add a tiny bit more flavor. *

Take one package of your Pillsbury® pie crust and arrange as your bottom crust.

 

Combine… 1 cup sugar,  1 tablespoons flour, and ¼ Teaspoon nutmeg.  Sprinkle half of mixture into pie shell. Add… 1 Teaspoon grated lemon rind;  1 Tablespoon lemon Juice  to sliced apples. Arrange in layers in pie shell, sprinkling sugar mixture over each layer, then pour the liquid from the peelings over the filling.

 

Take second piece of Pillsbury® pie crust un-roll and cut slits; Moisten rim of bottom crust, and place top crust over filling.

 

Fold edge under bottom crust;  press to seal, then  Flute.

Bake at 450 for ten minutes, then at 375 for 40 to 50 minutes.

Let cool and add your favorite toppings, or you can enjoy a piece by itself, either way enjoy!

 

 

*This was the only picture I was able to take before my Husband, grandfather, and uncle devoured the pie entirely!

 

Packaging: 4.5

* I appreciate the Pillsbury® packaging because it is a household name, yet very basic and so that  makes it all the more chic.

Price: 5

* Very budget friendly.

Would you try again?

* I personally feel that this is the answer for anyone who would like to do some serious baking,  but does not have the time or just does not know how to make their own dough’s struggle. This is the perfect dough for sweet and savory dishes! I  am going to use this every chance I get. Pillsbury® really did save my life and it was so easy to use! I may be baking quite a few pies  in the future!

 

 

*******************************   CONTEST    *********************************

It’s contest time again!

How to enter:

1. Describe your favorite way to eat/use apples, include a picture if you like, in the comments below.

2. Subscribe to Edible Reminiscence through wordpress.

3. “Like” Edible Reminiscence on FaceBook

4. “Suggest” Edible Reminiscence to your Facebook friends

5. If you use twitter, “follow” and “re-tweet”.

~Only one entry per person;

Remember be creative, elaborate as much as possible, if there are any questions feel free to email me,  Good Luck!

**** CONTEST ENDS WEDNESDAY, NOVEMBER 17, 2010 at 11:59 pm cst ****

 

 

8 Responses to “*closed* Pillsbury® “Love the pie” Review and Giveaway!”

  1. GwendolynShea November 7, 2010 at 4:16 am #

    My mom used to make an absolutely delicious apple-cranberry pie, with a sugar cookie dough crust. It was delicious! She always made it in a big stone/clay pie dish, and I think it just wouldn’t be the same in a regular glass one.

    I also love apples with peanut butter, but I have jaw problems which make it hard to eat a whole apple.

  2. Karen November 9, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    I’ve always been too intimidated to make an apple pie. I really should try I guess when you can use the PB pie crusts to ‘help out’. I usually make apple crisp instead. Your pie looks mighty good! 🙂

    • ediblereminiscence November 9, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

      I promise you that the PB pie crust makes it so very easy, I was surprised! I wish I had been able to try it, but the “guys” attacked! Thank you Karen!

  3. Wehaf November 12, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I love to snack on apple salad with carrots, walnuts, and raisins.

  4. Ashley Elaine November 12, 2010 at 4:24 am #

    I love fried apples but I recently made an apple crisp recipe from food network and it was amazing.

  5. ewhatley November 18, 2010 at 12:08 am #

    I’m not a baker but my two favorite apple memories are my maternal grandmother’s fried apple pies and a former boyfriend’s deep dish apple pie, all made from scratch.

    ewhatley at embarqmail dot com

  6. Julie L November 18, 2010 at 1:31 am #

    We enjoy eating apple crisp or apple pan dowdy…Sometimes if we only have a few apples we have baked apples thanks

  7. tina reynolds November 18, 2010 at 5:33 am #

    “Like” Edible Reminiscence on FaceBook (mrstinareynolds eaglesforjack@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

